Let’s Stop Hating on Islam

“Donald Trump seeks ‘expedited’ hearing on Muslim ban” [Al Jazeera]

“Conservative media call for internment of Muslims following London attacks” [Salon]

“To Arabs, Trump is just America without its mask” [Star Tribune]

—-

Those are just a few of the many titles I read every day about Islam and Muslims. Don’t even get me started on the comments under all these articles, cussing out Muslims, wishing death upon all Arabs and believers of Islam, explaining how Islam is the religion of hate … blah, blah, blah.

I mean, if we’re going to play the game of ‘let’s list bad things a believer of a certain religion has done,’ then my list will be long and every religion that existed will be mentioned in it. But, I won’t do that.

Anywho, as a Muslim, I don’t hate Jews, Christians, Buddhists, Hindus, Sikhs, or Atheists.

Do you want to worship the devil? Go right for it.

Are you agnostic? Great!

I was raised in the Middle East with friends who were followers of different religions, had different backgrounds and traditions. Yet, wait for it … I’ve never wanted to kill them and they, hopefully, never felt threatened by me.

Honestly, I could care less what your belief is, just don’t force it on me or try to convert me. You’ll only embarrass yourself, and be part of the stories I share with others that start with, “I remember once, this person thought I’d be better off being a Christian,” (I say “Christian” because only people who are Christians have attempted to convert me.)

Anyways, let’s clarify a few things about my take on Islam:

The Arabian Peninsula during the time of  Prophet Muhammed (SAWS*) was a region where numerous faiths were present, like the polytheists, Zoroastrians, Jews, Christians and others who did not associate with any religion. Thus, Islam teaches how Muslims should treat those who are of other religions:

To you be your religion, to me be mine.” Qu’ran 109:6

God does not forbid you from those who do not fight you because of religion and do not expel you from your homes – from dealing kindly and justly with them. Indeed, God loves those who act justly. God only forbids you from those who fight you because of religion and expel you from your homes and aid in your expulsion – (forbids) that you make allies of them. And whoever makes allies of them, then it is those who are the wrongdoers.” Qu’ran 60:8-9

[In case you are curious why I said ‘God’ and not ‘Allah’ – it’s because Allah means ‘God’ in Arabic. Just an FYI.]

Also, the Prophet (SAWS) strictly warned Muslims against any mistreatment of people of other faiths, he said:

Beware! Whoever is cruel and hard on a non-Muslim minority, or curtails their rights, or burdens them with more than they can bear, or takes anything from them against their free will; I (Prophet Muhammad) will complain against the person on the Day of Judgment.”

I can go on and on and on about what Islam is truly about and what the correct teachings are, however, I can either explain them on a different post.

For now, I would like to say something else:

Please, be capable of differentiating those who label themselves as Muslims, such as ISIS.

Please, learn the difference between ordinary Muslims and those who label themselves as “Muslims,” such as ISIS.

Whoever slays a soul, it is as though he slew all men.” Qu’ran 5:32

ISIS are NOT, and will NEVER be Muslims.
Suicide bombers are NOT, and will NEVER be Muslims.
Terrorists are NOT, and will NEVER be Muslims.

If you’ve been actually reading about ISIS, you’d know that they are not only assassinating people of other religions and cultures but are also murdering their own people. Even during the holiest month in Islam, the month of Ramadan.

So, read aloud with me: ISIS are not Muslims. (Please repeat this sentence five times a day, seven days a week – and perhaps you’ll be cured of Islamophobia and ignorance.)

Point clear? Wonderful.

In my previous post, I requested that you don’t judge based on what you see from social media, or old-fashion media. Therefore, ‘I Googled it’,  ‘my friends says’ and ‘I saw on Fox News’ are not good citations.

One last point:

I’ve noticed that when people wish to portray Islam in a violent way they would pull verses from the Qu’ran that tend to have the words ‘death’, ‘abuse’, ‘Jihad’ or ‘murder’. If you would like to quote a verse from the Qur’an or any other Holy Book, then please quote the entire verse and understand the context. It’s getting boring.

If you actually want to argue about any religion, then you should learn and study the religion and then sit with a few individuals from that particular faith. Also, as you’re arguing, debating or even discussing such topics, I request that you do it with respect.

Prophet Muhammed (SAWS) said, “None of you have faith until you love for your neighbor what you love for yourself.”

In other words, treat others the way you want to be treated – alright? Alright.

So, please stop blaming religion, God or any other faith because of a person’s action. Stop saying that a ‘religion is full of hate that it’s making people go crazy and hungry for blood’.

Please.
Just.
Stop.

Why can’t we just respect the fact that we, as humans, are always going to be different from one another? Why spread hate about an entire religion, faith or even atheism just because you disagree with it, just because you didn’t grow up that certain way or just because they’re different?

I’ve somewhat grown weary of having the same debates over and over, with individuals who are not trying to understand the other parties logic and sometimes facts.

Remember, a Muslim can be anyone. We are of all ethnicities and live in countries around the world, even from the ‘Land of the Free’ (U.S.). Also, within the realm of Islam are a variety of different opinions and interpretations of scripture, just as there are in Christianity and Judaism.

So, let’s stop hating on each other and instead start learning how to accept and respect one another.

Until my next blog, I shall leave you with Salam,

Noor


* SWAS is an abbreviation for “Sallahu Alayhi Wa Salaam”, which means “Peace be Upon Him”. We use this word every time we mention the prophet’s name.

* The best way to learn more about Islam is to go to a local Mosque and ask them about Islam, or talk to a Muslim friend. Please do not Google your questions.

Leave a Reply

